The Sea of Monsters movie: A Brief Summary of Why You Shouldn’t See It

Image

The Sea of Monsters is a heart-stopping, hilarious story with strong characters and an edge-of-your-seat plot. I strongly recommend… the book.

The movie is a whole other story. Of course, if you are like me, a part of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians fandom, you read all the books and saw the first movie: The Lightning Thief. And if you are like 99.9% of the fandom, you despised the first movie because it didn’t follow the plot of the book, not even close. If you hadn’t read the book, it would have been a good movie, but the fact that it was connected to Rick Riordan’s book ruined it

Perhaps my bad experience with the Lightning Thief made me biased towards the second one. Really, the only reason I saw it was A. I still had slivers of hope for my fandom and B. I was going with a group of friends.

I guess I should have taken Alexander Pope’s advice: “Blessed is he who expects nothing, for he shall never be disappointed.”

This was a horrendous movie. Everything about it. From the beautiful CGI ((sarcasm)) to the witty trash talk lines ((also sarcasm)), one of which went something like this: (Luke has his arm around Percy’s neck) “I know you can breathe underwater, but can you breathe like this?” I  mean, come on writers, it’s not that hard. 

The Sea of Monsters, when it comes to following the plot of the book, was just a little better than the Lightning Thief, although they still changed too much to be acceptable. Remember your favorite scenes: Circe’s island? The Sirens? Yeah, apparently the writers skipped a few chapters. They attempted (and failed) to add some things into the sequel that they left out of the original. Haha, chimera. Nice try, writers. 

Also, Annabeth magically turned blonde, and Mr. D was added.

Mr. D (Dionysius) is the only good thing in this movie. He called Percy “Perry Johnson”, he was sarcastic and rude, and he was everything I’d hoped for.

Guys, rewriting mythology is not cool. Maybe this only bothered me because I’m a Greek myth nerd, but just so you know, when Kronos ate his children, Poseidon, Hades, and Zeus did NOT escape, Rhea hid Zeus from Kronos, then fed him a mixture that made him throw up the rest. Kronos did NOT rise in this book. Not even close. Also, Poseidon did NOT give Percy Riptide, and Kronos was NOT killed in Sea of Monsters. SERIOUSLY THIS IS NOT THAT HARD.

Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for the rest of the film. Obvious animation, cheesy lines, made up myths, and brand-spanking-new plots are just a few great reasons to go do see something else at a theater near you.

Thanks for listening to my rant, I appreciate you putting up with me 🙂 -Cheshire Cat