Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman

Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman

Series: None

Published by Dial on February 17, 2011

Pages: 292

Format: Ebook

Source: Barnes and Noble

Rating: 1 star

When high school junior Natalie-or Dr. Aphrodite, as she calls herself when writing the relationship column for her school paper-is accused of knowing nothing about guys and giving girls bad relationship advice, she decides to investigate what guys really think and want. But the guys in her class won’t give her straight or serious answers. The only solution? Disguising herself as a guy and spending a week at Underwood Academy, the private all-boy boarding school in town. There she learns a lot about guys and girls in ways she never expected-especially when she falls for her dreamy roommate, Emilio. How can she show him she likes him without blowing her cover?

This Synopsis was copied from Goodreads, because I couldn’t actually finish this book.

Ickerific. Bleah. I was in a mood for a pretty cheesy book when I read this but really. It was cheddar shavings on top of cheese whiz on top of swiss, cheesy overload. I coudn’t even finish it. Complete waste of $8.99.

I made it about 100 pages before I had to stop to gouge my eyes out.

double-click to open in new tab

One thing that made me bang my head against the wall over and over again was Emilio. A. What kind of name is Emilio? B. Why was Natalie attracted to him? Because of his rock hard abs and “caramel skin”? Because of his RING TONE? Honestly, he was as deep as a kiddy pool. Kirsten Stewart shows more expression than him in Twilight.

Thing #2 that made me gag:

Natalie’s friends. Can you say cliche? Can you? Let me help you. It’s pronounce cli (like clean but without the n) sh (like at the library) e (as in eh, I can’t hear you). They were so typical. Pretty, interested in drama, Can’t you have at least 1 character with some depth? Natalie may have been a little deep, like the shallow end of a pool. At least she was interested in journalism. However, she did seem a little dumb while she was trying to pretend to be a guy.  Cute shoes? Honestly?

The one redeeming quality that kept me reading for the 100 pages that I did was the writing style. It was a pretty cute, easy to read writing style that I could see others enjoying. The cover was also adorable.

Some people have managed to enjoy this as genuine chic-lit, but I disagree. This is not chic-lit, this is a soap opera.

Even the premise was ridiculous, I mean really having someone hack you into a guy’s school to do research on how guys think? Can’t you just make friends with guys? And when you get there, for crying out loud don’t go around asking your stupid questions the first day. It was ridiculous. This was not fluffy, this was fluff, the good-for-nothing stuff that goes in pillows. This was a mountain of cheese soaked fluff. Yep, a mountain of cheese soaked fluff.

I know that a lot of people really enjoyed this book, but it was just not my cup of tea. If you want to read a GOOD book about a girl that disguises herself and goes to a boy’s school, check out The Education of Bet by Lauren Baratz-Logsted ~The Red Queen

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

