Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson

Image Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson

Series: Confessions #1

Published by Little, Brown on September 24, 2012

Pages: 272

Format: Ebook

Source: Barnes and Noble

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: On the night Malcolm and Maud Angel are murdered, Tandy Angel knows just three things: 1) She was the last person to see her parents alive. 2) The police have no suspects besides Tandy and her three siblings. 3) She can’t trust anyone–maybe not even herself. Having grown up under Malcolm and Maud’s intense perfectionist demands, no child comes away undamaged. Tandy decides that she will have to clear the family name, but digging deeper into her powerful parents’ affairs is a dangerous-and revealing-game. Who knows what the Angels are truly capable of?

Review: I never really intended to read this book. I had a sample in the back of a Maximum Ride book that I wasn’t crazy about. The book just sounded odd to me. A few months later I was doing my daily Barnes and Noble check to see what the “Nook book of the day” was, and surely, this was available for less than three dollars. I thought, “What the heck, I might as well.” Even then, it sat on my nook for several weeks. It was on a twelve hour bore-you-out-of-your-mind car ride that I finally gave it a shot. I had no idea what to expect, except I was sure I wouldn’t love it.

Confessions of a Murder Suspect is a very original story about Tandy Angel, a middle child in a family of five who burdens herself with the task of solving her parents’ murders. After some investigation, it appears that everyone has a motive and anyone could be the killer. What remains of her over-the-top, wealthy, overly successful family turns on itself, accusations and suspicions flying everywhere.

When I read a murder mystery like this one, I usually have at least some idea of who did it. However, this one left me guessing the entire time, with a surprise ending that leaves you ready for the next book. There were plot twists I never saw coming, and just a little bit of romance.

I pretty much adored every character in this book. There was a good mix of every kind of personality so that you had at least one person you identified with.

All in all, it was a whole lot better than I expected. Highly recommended.

-Cheshire Cat

2 Comments

  1. I read the excerpt in the Maximum Ride book; too! I must get it now! There are a bunch of crime books I wanna read right now… (Specifically How to Lead a Life of Crime, by Kirsten Miller)

  2. I’ve read some really mixed reviews, about this one! However, this review has made me very tempted to grab a copy whenever I see it now 🙂 Thanks for a great review, and for commenting on my blog! 🙂

    -Happy reading! Georgia (who is on her dad’s wordpress account. That’s why I’m commenting as Keith, if that’s too confusing =D)

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

