The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Neilsen

Image

The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Neilsen

Series: The Ascendence Trilogy #2

Published by Scholastic Press on March 1, 2013

Pages: 331

Format: Ebook

Source: Barnes and Noble

Rating: 5 stars

So, I adore the first book, The False Prince, so I had high expectations, and was not let down.

It was marvelous.

I love Sage’s character. It’s like it’s just his nature to be extremely sarcastic every other sentence, which makes me laugh, even if the situation is not funny. I’ll laugh out loud when he’s being interrogated and threatened by pirates, then I’m just like, “Shut up,” to myself.”THIS IS NOT FUNNY.” But I love the way she portrays him. Sage also has some great insults. *giggle*

I need to write them all down and use them.

Oh, the ending was terrible. I love Imogen! Now she’s gone and we don’t know what happened to her for another year. (Sound familiar, Mr. Riordan?) Sometimes I think authors meet and discuss the most terrible things they can do to their characters, just to torment us.

Like a convention. For authors. To discuss cliffhangers and evil plots. I can just see it.

ANYWAYS.

I just love Fink. I don’t know if it’s just me, but he reminds me of Gavroche from Les Miserables. I also really like Imogen, because she’s really sweet and smart and she just wants to protect Sage. It’s really great.

So, I can’t WAIT for the next book. Jennifer A. Nielsen is such a great writer, the plot is really fantastic. Something big happens nearly every chapter, it’s never slow. This is the kind of book where something happens I never expected, and I scream or exclaim out loud then get funny looks.

SO. Great book.

– Alice

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

