Becoming Bryn by Angela Carling

ImageBecoming Bryn by Angela Carling

 Series: Standalone

Published by Acacia Publishing on June 15, 2013

Pages: 310

Format: Ebook

Source: I received this book as a part of it’s blog tour from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 3 stars

For months, Jesse has been envious of her twin sister Bryn and even has a crush on Bryn’s gorgeous, popular boyfriend, Quinton. When Jesse awakens from a coma to learn that everyone thinks she IS Bryn, the option of actually taking over her sister’s life is beyond tempting, but there’s a downside. She’d have to give up Ethan, her best friend and the only person she trusts. Could she actually live as Bryn for the rest of her life? And if her family and friends found out, would they ever forgive her? Goodreads

Not exactly my cup of tea.

Becoming Bryn is your run of the mill YA romance with the twist of twins thrown in along with a dash of death.

To be honest, I just couldn’t really get into it. The story line was decent, but the writing felt a little disjointed at some places. Simply put, the writing style didn’t fit with the story.  I think I would have preferred it if the book had been written in third person, rather than switching back and forth between Bryn and Jesse’s first person view points.  It seemed like the author used a bigger vocabulary than most teens, which made the book sound like an English teacher was trapped inside a seventeen year olds body screaming, “LET ME OUT OF THIS CAGE OF YOUTH.”

The romance was a tad predictable, and by predictable, I mean that I could tell exactly who would end up with who by the end of the first 20 pages. Most of the plot twists were so expected that I would have been surprised if they HADN’T happened.

Quinton, muscular, handsome, smells-good popular boy (I think he wore a spider man suit and showered in cologne) was cheesy and unrealistic. Period. I did not like that chitlin after the first chapter. I spent the rest of the book rolling my eyes every time Jesse started salivating over him. Just get over it, girl.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I can say that I genuinely liked some of the characters such as Tu and Summer. I loved Summer especially, because out of all the characters in the book, I felt hers was the most genuine. She acted like a 9 year old *gasps*, not an English teacher dolling up her POV to try and make it sound more like a teenager.

Ethan was ok, kind of like mashed potatoes with no salt. I wish his character had been more fully developed (saltinated, and no that’s not a real word), since we barely saw him after the first 100 pages, but he seemed like a pretty likeable fellow. Ethan was certainly not one of those “Be still my heart. I’m hardly breathing” guys (Please forgive my Beauty and the Beast reference), but he wasn’t an ogre.

So, generally, I liked Becoming Bryn, but the writing style needed a lot of work. The book would have been much more successful, if the POV’s had felt more real. This book was like a cake that falls before you take it out of the oven, still yummy, but a little disappointing.

~The Red Queen

Image

4 Comments

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

