The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

House of HadesThe House of Hades by Rick Riordan

Series: Heroes of Olympus

Published by Hyperion Books on October 8, 2013

Pages: 597

Format: Ebook

Source: Barnes and Noble

Rating: 5 stars

Before I start, I might as well tell you I’m a bit of a Percy Jackson nut.

Rick Riordan makes me wait for a whole year between books and every year, I think I might die (I don’t).

This year was even worse than ever because The Mark of Athena ended with Percabeth

falling

into

Tartarus

And then he gives us this ridiculous thing at the beginning of The House of Hades.

THE DEDICATION

hoh dedication edit

Rick is a troll

An evil troll

Onto my actual review:

There are major plot twists with some of the characters and I’m not going to be THAT person that spoils everything for you poor souls that haven’t read the book yet.

I WILL do my happy dance/murderous rage rant about some of the characters though.

1. Frank
I hate him.
Utterly despise him.
Want to burn his little stick.

Everybody loves Frank, but for some reason I’ve felt an innate hatred for him ever since The Son of Neptune. Don’t tell me about how much he’s gone through, how he finally but on his big boy panties in this book, how he and Hazel make such a great couple, blah, blah, blah.

Si owl meme

Frank is a large Chinese baby man and that is all I have to say about that.

2. PERCABETH

Even though they end up in Tartarus for the whole book thanks to the aforementioned troll, they are still the most perfectest thing in the whole wide world.

Sorry, I just cant contain my feels for them.

Both of their characters develop so much in this book and I’m afraid they won’t ever be the same after all they went through. On a side note, they did see Bob the Titan again in this book and he’s the best thing since sliced bread.

3. Piper

I liked Piper in The Lost Hero, but now she doesn’t do that much other than yell things at monsters and look pretty. By the end of this book at least she was trying to practice sword fighting, but I don’t really have an opinion about her anymore.

4. Hazel

Hazel turns all mysterious, mist-control-magicy in this book.

FANTASTIC

She finally is not just some nice little plot invention to help explain things (and give Frank *shudders* a girlfriend). She grows a personality and now I think I may like her more than Piper.

5. Jason

Too perfect. Pretty boy. Blond superman. Same old same old.

6. LEO (I saved the best for last)

He’s my baby.

I love him.

He’s MINE.

I’m so very conflicted about things in this book (i.e. the girl whose name I will not mention). Leo goes through so much and at the end of the book he started acting all depressed because of the unmentioned one. I just want to give him a hug.

About the plot, this book reminded me so much of Mark of Athena that it’s not even funny. I mean, one or two people trapped in a dark place (Annabeth and Percy in Tartarus and Nico in the jar) and the rest having to find an underground layer to get to an object they need to save the world (the Athena Parthenos and the Doors of Death). I think I may have liked this one the best out of all of the Hero’s of Olympus books though. It had amazing character development (I don’t think a single person came out of it unscathed) and some pretty fantastic battle scenes (courtesy of the hated one aka Frank).

All in all it was another amazing Riordan book. Plus Rick didn’t even give us a cliff hanger. I was actually a little disappointed…. no rickhanger, no ripped out heart, oh well.

~The Red Queen

5 Comments

  1. *SNORT* I LOVE that dedication, just… love haha And I’m fangirling just from reading your review.

    CURSE THE FACT THAT I HAVEN’T BEEN ABLE TO REREAD THE PREVIOUS THREE BOOKS YET SO I COULD JUMP RIGHT INTO THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *Ahem* Yeah, really have to do that first thing December if it’s possible!

      • No, you’re not a bad girl, it’s just a preference of mine especially with this series since there’s seven characters to follow! Though I do agree with you about Piper and Jason, so technically I could skip their parts if I didn’t want to get the full effect *laughs* I’m not sure how I feel about Frank, though. There are times I like him, and times I really want to strangle him. Though his connection to Percy and Tyson makes me want to gag. At least when Tyson was introduced, it made sense, and showcased another aspect of Poseidon and reason for Percy to hate his father. Plus, I liked Tyson from the start – both his personality and the fact that he was a Cyclops. But with Frank it’s… kind of over-kill.

  2. Ahem. Leo. is. MINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just saying. Frank actually wasn’t as awful in this book. So true what you said for Jason. He got kinda boring, like Piper. Hazel? Absolutely amazing. Message to Uncle Ricky: You are cruel. BTW: PERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECTPERCABETHISPERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

