The 100 by Kass Morgan

 The 100The 100 by Kass Morgan

Series: The Hundred #1

Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on September 3, 2013

Pages: 323

Format: Hardcover

Source: Barnes and Noble

Rating: 2 stars

The 100 was supposed to be a fantastic, lord-of-the-flies reminiscent, dystopian YA masterpiece.

If that’s what The 100 is, then I’m not sure what I read because it was definitely not fantastic, or lord-of-the-flies-y. It certainly was another overdone dystopian YA novel.

There were two basic parts to this book. 10% of the book was actual actiony, exciting plot, and the other 90% was mushy, cliché, sappy romance. I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to puke after reading ridiculous declarations of love between characters I hated.

None of the romance was developed during the book. All of it either existed prior to the plot, or was your typical instalove.

As for the action, The 100 had possibly the least amount of plot of any book I’ve ever read. The entire book takes place within two weeks and most of the book is flashbacks (which I do not consider plot). I wish it had begun about 6 months earlier to eliminate the flashbacks and provide an INTERESTING story line. As it was, the book was about a bunch of teens that got sent off their space ship to Earth so the government could tell if Earth was still toxic. It was a kind of hunger games/wall-e mash up that just didn’t work out.

The plot might have been more successful if the setting had been better explained. The book never gave us any backstory as to why they were on a space ship in the first place, what “Walden” and “Phoenix” which I assume are different cities on the ship actually were, how long had they been in space, etc. The book took off running and never stopped to explain ANYTHING.

I decided to start to show you exactly how idiotic the characters were by paraphrasing this section of the book. Prepare yourself for its atrociousness

Clarke: Oh no, the hospital building is on fire and one of my friends is inside. I have to go save her!

Wells: *grabs Clarke and restrains her* You can’t run in there! The building is about to fall over and finish burning up. Besides, your friend is probably dead already.

Clarke: LET ME GO SAVE MY FRIEND EVEN THOUGH SHE’S ALREADY DEAD!!!

Wells: I WON’T LET YOU DIE BECAUSE I LOVE YOU. I CAME TO EARTH FOR YOU SUGAR MUFFIN!!

*building collapses*

Clarke: YOU ARE A EVIL SLIMY MONSTER WELLS!!! YOU KILL EVERYTHING YOU TOUCH!!!! YOU DO NOT HAVE A GREEN THUMB!! IN FACT, YOU HAVE A BROWN THUMB!!

Wells: I just didn’t want you to die. I kind of just saved your life

Clarke: I’M BREAKING UP WITH YOU AGAIN, YOU TROLL.

*and scene*

Clarke. Why. Are. You. So. Stupid.

You refuse to see common sense. Wells was not trying to destroy your life. Wells is trying to save you. Get with it sister

Wells was a bit of a cardboard cutout, but at least he made sense most of the time while Clark spent half the book “tormented” that she still felt things for him after he inadvertently caused her parent’s death. Then, after he saves her life she decides that since he is obviously a troll, she should go off and frolic in the woods with Bellamy (By the way, what kind of a guy name is that? It sounds like a ballerina name), who she just met a week or two ago. They made a semi-love triangle with two characters that I don’t really like. Ewww.

Red queen mad

Do I look happy?

Meanwhile, while this exciting plot *insert sarcasm here* is going down on earth, Glass is up in the space ship with her twoo wuv Luke.

Apparently, Luke finding a new girlfriend can’t stop it either.

She obviously didn’t care that as soon as she had dropped him like a hot potato when she was about to be confined, he moved right on to his next twoo wuv. Then once she showed up again and he “understood” why she had been confined (I’m not going to give that spoiler away so that the poor people who actually choose to read this book have something to look forward to) he dumped his other girl and came right back to Glass with his big puppy dog eyes begging for forgiveness. Needless to say, I didn’t like either of them.

All in all, this was a roll your eyes now, rant later kind of book. It wasn’t completely awful and I’m sure at least one person is bound to like it, but personally, I would advise all of you not to be drawn in by the pretty cover and give this one a pass next time you go to the bookstore. ~The Red Queen

2 Comments

  1. Love this review, especially the bit between Clark and Wells and the hospital, followed by the picture of the guy banging his head against the wall. Made me chuckle.
    I’m really disappointed, I was so excited to read this book. I think I am still going to check it out (mostly because I have already paid for it on my kindle!) but at least now I am warned that it’s probably not going to be what I wanted it to be 😦
    Hopefully though it might be one of these ones where the TV series is actually tons better then the book (doesn’t really ever happen, but here’s for hoping!)

  2. Pingback: Sound That Broken Record | Weather Or Not BG - Landon Hampton, Meteorologist

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

