Review: Tiger Lily by Jody Lynn Anderson

Tiger lilyTiger Lily by Jody Lynn Anderson

Series: None

Published by Harper Collins Children’s Books on  July 3rd 2012

Pages: 292

Format: Hardback

Source: The Library

Rating: 5 stars

I can’t tell you how fantastic this book is. This review has A LOT of spoilers because I just can’t help myself.

I may or may not have cried at the end. I also may or may not have started a I-hate-Wendy-Darling club after I finished it.

Tiger Lily is a love story, but it’s not sappy. It doesn’t even have a happy ending, but sometimes you don’t need happy endings. Sometimes reality gets in the way.

As all of you know, I am a huge fan of love triangles when they are done right. When they are not, I put on my angry face and start insulting and making faces at fictional characters.

This one was just FANTASTICALLY well done. It was one of the best love triangles that I’ve ever read even though the ending broke my heart.

Tiger Lily is narrated by Tinker Bell who just makes everything wonderful, just because. I’ve decided that I love the overseeing first person narrator. It makes you see the characters in a whole new light even though it is a little less personal. Tink is almost better than death in The Book Thief.

Tiger Lily was a pretty tough cookie. She has everyone she loves DIE or leave and then manages to keep going, fall in love AGAIN and live for another 50 years while not aging a day.

Peter was pretty fantastic, even though he did turn out to be a little bit of a jerk in the end. He was a little darker than the Peter I thought I knew and a little more human. I don’t know whether I hate or love him.

Smee. Was. Evil. I was like what happened to the sweet little fat Smee that we love?

This Smee was a sociopath. A really evil sociopath. He was more evil than Hook, who was just a depressed man that wanted to find Neverland. In comparison, Smee killed people he admired and then cried about it later. Messed up.

I’m a sucker for a good ending and this one was beautiful. It broke my heart, but it was gorgeous. It gives you warm fuzzy feelings that make you want to break down and sob for a while.

In short, Tiger Lily is the down to earth, tell-all version of Peter Pan. It’s raw, gorgeously written, and poignant. It doesn’t leave out heartbreakers *sobs*, gory details, prejudices, or superstitions. I absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone.

~The Red Queen

9 Comments

  1. Aggh, now I’m intrigued! Sounds amazing, I’ll add it to the list of “must track down” book. and wonderful review. By the way, the little worm on a hook that comes down from the top of your blog is AMAZING! I love him …

  2. Pingback: Jodi Lynn Anderson – Tiger Lily | Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Reviews

Comments are FANTASTIC, so spill your thoughts onto the screen

